Masquerade! Paper faces on parade.

Halloween is right around the corner!
As always, I am in a frantic search for the perfect costume…

Option 1 will always be to become a Wearable Story from my selection of artistic interpretations by Torynova Couture. Speaking of which, I should mention that by the end of this week I will be unveiling 2 more art designs in 2 styles of dresses with matching men’s ties. They’re going to be pretty rockin’ hot! To get an idea of what to look for, read up on the 12 Labors of Hercules as my inspiration. Funny tidbit: so the actual size of the painting by Antonio Pollaiuolo in that wikipedia article is like 4 x 6 inches. I stumbled onto that sweet little marvel at the Uffizi gallery in Florence.

Option 2 is to MAKE A COSTUME! This has been my tactic since oh so many years ago in senior year of high school, which was the first year I actually ever dressed up for Halloween (insert sad story about immigration-related cultural clash). Mostly I just purchase components like paint, hair, fabric, fangs, etc. The end result is a hodgepodge of creative fury strategically combined to form a new identity as a Harajuku girl, vampire, mime, Sookie (OG True Blood fan) etc.

This Year I’m making masks! So far, I have 2 looks down: Frankenmonster and Skullmonster. I feel like a pioneer in the illustration/mask industry; after all, these masks are made with my copyrighted artwork and produced under my company label. I still can’t decide if they’re scary or adorable. The fabric is 100% organic cotton knit, which feels baby soft against the skin, looks vintage, has stretch, and best of all, can be washed and reused! It’s the perfect material, way better than paper, plastic, or worst of all rubber (yuck!).

If you’d like to purchase one, they’re currently available in my Etsy store in an ADULT SIZE (age post-pubescent-growth-spurt and up) and in a CHILD SIZE soon-to-come. If you’d like to receive one before Halloween, I will try my hardest to make it happen. I say “if” because there are people, like myself, that really wouldn’t mind wearing a costume once in a while to spice up the ol’ daily routine. Regardless of whether or not someone else finds them cool, I will be wearing one proudly come October 31st. However, I will probably be going to fancy masquerade parties wearing a sexy TNC dress ~ HINT!

So, the question is, what are YOU dressing up as for Halloween?

– Tory
tn@torynova.com

And, in case you’re curious, the title is a line from Phantom of the Opera’s Masquerade scene/song.

Leave a Reply

